Forget the Oscars, Watch NZ’s Halberg Awards on Sky

Hosted by SKY Sport presenters Laura McGoldrick and Te Arahi Maipi, the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards is the country’s pre-eminent event to honour and celebrate New Zealand sporting excellence.

SKY Sport’s coverage will include a half hour build-up from 8.00pm on SKY Sport 1. Hosted by James McOnie, the coverage will feature exclusive red carpet interviews with many of the award nominees by presenters Monty Betham and Courtney Tairi.

The 56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards ceremony will then go live from 8.30pm. During the awards ceremony, James McOnie will be floating around the tables conducting interviews with guests.

The annual Awards is the major fundraiser for the Halberg Foundation, the charity set up by Olympic athletics champion Sir Murray Halberg (ONZ), which aims to enhance the lives of physically disabled young New Zealanders by enabling them to participate in sport and recreation.

Ten awards and a Sports Hall of Fame inductee will be presented during the live ceremony.  Seventeen finalists in the ISPS Handa Para Athlete/Team, ISPS Handa Sportsman, High Performance Sport New Zealand Sportswoman and ISPS Handa Team categories will all be eligible for the supreme Halberg Award – the country’s highest accolade for sporting excellence. 

SKY Sport Emerging Talent Award

The SKY Sport Emerging Talent Award is an award that is designed to identify and assist a young athlete in their quest to become an Olympic, Paralympic and/or World Champion, and hopefully one day win the Halberg Award. Sponsored by SKY Sport, a number of these athletes have featured on SKY Sport broadcasts in 2018. The award will be presented by Phil Tataurangi and Honey Hireme.

Finalists for the SKY Sport Emerging Talent Award are:

·         Amelia Kerr (Cricket)

·         Anna Leat (Football)

·         Josh Armit (Yachting)

·         Lewis Clareburt (Swimming)

·         Maddison-Lee Wesche (Athletics)

The 56th Annual ISPS Handa Halberg Awards will also be a chance for New Zealanders to help vote on their favourite sporting moment of the year. With so many incredible sporting moments in 2018, it will be tough picking one.

The full list of New Zealand’s Favourite Sporting Moment of the Year finalists are:

1.    Nico Porteous and Zoi Sadowski-Synnott medaling at the Olympic Winter Games within two hours of each other (Pyeongchang)

2.    David Liti breaking a Commonwealth record and winning gold in the men’s 105kg+ weightlifting division at the Commonwealth Games (Gold Coast)

3.    Kelly Brazier scoring a long range solo try in extra time to secure gold for the Black Ferns Sevens against Australia at the Commonwealth Games (Gold Coast)

4.    Vantage Black Sticks Women penalty shootout over Olympic champions England in semifinal at the Commonwealth Games (Gold Coast)

5.    Amelia Kerr blasting a record breaking 232 not out against Ireland for the White Ferns, achieving the highest score in women’s ODIs (Dublin)

6.    Roger Tuivasa-Sheck receiving an impromptu haka after winning the Dally M Player of the Year (Sydney)

7.    Auckland Rugby winning the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership final after a dramatic finish in extra time against Canterbury (Auckland)

8.    BLACKCAPS winning the first test against Pakistan by four runs (Abu Dhabi)

9.    Anna Leat’s successful penalty shootout against Japan, leading New Zealand into the semifinal of the Fifa Under-17 Women’s World Cup (New Zealand vs Japan, Uruguay)

How to vote:

Voting is now open for the Sporting Moment of the Year award.  You can vote once a day from now until 9.00pm on Thursday 21 February 2019, vote either online or by text.


Vote at


Text your Sporting Moment’s unique code to 556 (standard txt charges apply):

Txt SM1 to 556to vote for Nico Porteous and Zoi Sadowski-Synnott

Txt SM2 to 556to vote for David Liti

Txt SM3 to 556 to vote for Kelly Brazier

Txt SM4 to 556 to vote for Vantage Black Sticks Womens Team

Txt SM5 to 556 to vote for Amelia Kerr

Txt SM6 to 556 to vote for Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

Txt SM7 to 556 to vote for Auckland Rugby

Txt SM8 to 556 to vote for Black Caps

Txt SM9 to 556 to vote for Anna Leat



56th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards

SKY Sport 1 LIVE

Thursday 21st February 2019 – 8.00pm


SKY GO is a free service for all SKY domestic customers who can access SKY content that they have already subscribed to at no extra cost. SKY GO allows existing customers to enjoy the thrill and excitement of live sports with them, wherever they go in New Zealand on select smartphones, tablets, Mac or PC.


FAN PASS is your online access to all of the sport you can handle on SKY Sport 1-4.


SKY has extended its sport offering with the SKY Sport Highlights app, bringing Kiwi sports fans closer to the ISPS Handa Halberg Awards than ever before. Users can get all of ISPS Handa Halberg Awards highlights, pre and post interviews, in one easy place. To download the app for iPhone and Android users, search ‘SKY Sport highlights’ in the app store.


Prime viewers can also celebrate the country’s sporting excellence with free-to-air coverage from 11.35pm on Thursday 21 February.

You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.